Tag Archives: January

Learning Resources for Special Days in January, 2015

january_3499cThere are many learning opportunities using January’s calendar!

Below is a collection of online learning resources for January studies.  A big “Thank You” to all   (social media group members and blogging friends)  who are sharing your resources.  We wouldn’t have a list like this without a lot of help!  This month has grown to have a resource for almost every day!

Special Days in January  –  List of January 2015 themes, holidays, and historic dates  https://stilllearningsomethingnew.com/2014/12/30/special-days-in-january-2015/

January Prayer Calendar  –  http://cherigamble.com/2014/12/29/january-2015-prayer-calendar-for-children/

January Writing Prompts  –  http://www.theteacherscorner.net/daily-writing-prompts/january/

January Science Calendar  –  http://thehomeschoolscientist.com/january-2015-science-calendar-2/#.VKjAVXuP_sg

January Themed Math  –  http://www.yummymath.com/

January Themed Coloring and Activity Printables  –  http://www.apples4theteacher.com/

Snow is a wonderful study theme for January.  This was one of our family’s favorites!  –  https://stilllearningsomethingnew.com/2014/02/07/snow-week/

President’s With January Birthdays  – This is how we study/review the presidents https://stilllearningsomethingnew.com/2014/02/14/resources-for-presidents-day/

  •  Millard Fillmore born Jan. 7, 1800
  • Richard Nixon born Jan. 9, 1913
  • Wm. McKinley born Jan. 29, 1843
  • Franklin Roosevelt born Jan. 30, 1882

More January Birthdays –  Read biographies, printables, and online activities  –  http://gardenofpraise.com/index.htm

  • Isaac Newton  –  Jan. 4, 1693
  • Joan of Arc  –  Jan. 6, 1412
  • Albert Schweitzer  –  Jan. 14, 1875
  • Ben Franklin  –  Jan. 17, 1706
  • Mozart  –  Jan. 27, 1756

Resources for January’s Daily Specials:

1  –  New Year’s  –  Learning Resources  –  https://stilllearningsomethingnew.com/2014/12/31/learning-resources-for-new-years/

3  –  J.R.R. Tolkien Day  –  Read about the author, book reviews, events,  and more from his fan club, The Tolkien Society  –  http://www.tolkiensociety.org/

4  –  Jacob Grimm 1785  –  Read Brothers Grimm fairy tales  –  http://www.familymanagement.com/literacy/grimms/grimms-toc.html

5  –  Bird Day  –  Make one or more of these bird feeders  http://happyhooligans.ca/32-homemade-bird-feeders/  and learn some bird calls  http://www.enature.com/birding/audio.asp

6  –  Bean Day  –  Bean resources and activities  – http://www.franw.com/2015/01/bean-resources.html

7  –  Old Rock Day  –  Find geology facts, experiments, and games –  http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/geology.html

8  –  Joygerm Day  –  https://stilllearningsomethingnew.com/2014/01/08/happy-joygerm-day/

9  –  Static Electricity Day  –  This is Z’s all time favorite experiment  –  http://www.sciencebob.com/experiments/staticroll.php

11  –  Grand Canyon National Monument dedicated 1908  –  Take a virtual tour  –  http://www.grandcanyonvirtualtour.com/

13  –  Poetry Break Day  –  Reading and Writing Poetry resources  –  http://42explore.com/poetry.htm

16  –  Appreciate a Dragon Day  –  Fast Facts and resource links  –  http://www.kidskonnect.com/subjectindex/13-categories/animals/439-dragons.html

18  –  Winnie the Pooh Day  –  http://www.just-pooh.com/

19  –  Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day  –  https://stilllearningsomethingnew.com/2014/01/17/teaching-resources-for-martin-luther-king-day/

19  –  Edgar Allan Poe born 1809  –  Research Project  –  http://www.franw.com/2013/10/edgar-allan-poe-research-project.html

20  –  Draw a Dinosaur Day  –  Try  these step-by-step instructions  –  http://www.dragoart.com/google_search.php?cx=partner-pub-6207428572838690%3A2440456717&cof=FORID%3A10&ie=UTF-8&q=dinosaur

21  –  Squirrel Appreciation Day  –  Huge list of unit study resources  –  http://lastingthumbprints.com/free-squirrel-resource-unit/

23  –  Handwriting Analysis Week begins  –  Learn about the forensics analysis of handwriting  –  http://science.howstuffworks.com/handwriting-analysis.htm

24  –  Talk Like a Grizzled Prospector Day  –  How about a Yosemite Sam cartoon?  –  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PO4JcgD3vq0

25  –  Burns Night  –  Robert Burns born 1759  –  http://activityvillage.co.uk/burns-night

25  –  Super Bowl  –  https://stilllearningsomethingnew.com/2014/01/31/the-winter-olympic-games-but-first-the-super-bowl/

26  –  Australia Day  –   http://activityvillage.co.uk/australia-day

27  –  Author Lewis Carrol born 1832  –  Study guide for Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland  http://www.sparknotes.com/lit/alice/

29 –  Patriot Thomas Paine born 1737  –  Watch the Common Sense episode of Liberty’s Kids –  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awlBeITstkE

30  –  Yodel For Your Neighbors Day  –  How to Yodel Instructions, Videos, and some historic facts  –  http://wordbone.com/learn/how-to-yodel-instructions-for-beginners-kids-and-celebrity-singers/

31  –  Inspire Your Heart With Art Day  –  When looking for an art project, this is my usual “go to” site.  No matter what subject you’re studying, this link has something to tie art in with it!  –  http://www.artistshelpingchildren.org/craftsbytheme.html

And remember to check out what’s available at your local libraries.  Ours usually has  themes for reading contests, and book suggestions.  We picked up 2 bags of books to go along with our first couple of weeks of Special Days in January studies.

Happy January Learning!

betty jo

Advertisements

Special Days in January 2014

iMOM 2013-14 Calendar-JAN14

Updated for 2019 here –                                 https://stilllearningsomethingnew.com/2018/12/28/special-days-in-january-2019/

 

MMMButton  HHH-300x300  mainbutton